City of Akutan

City Administration

The Mayor, City Clerk and Utility Clerk provide direct services to community members from the City Offices located in Akutan, Alaska.

Akutan's City Administrator, Finance Manager and Assistant City Administrator have offices in Anchorage, Alaska due to Akutan Island's remote location.
City Council

The City of Akutan is incorporated as a Second Class City under Title 29 of the State of Alaska Statutes. The Akutan City Council is made up of seven members. The Mayor is elected by the community from sitting Council members.

City Government

The Akutan City council is comprised of seven members elected at-large for three-year terms.

City of Akutan Sales Tax

  • The City of Akutan implements a 1.5% (one and one half percent) sales tax on raw seafood products within its municipal boundaries.
  • ‚ÄčAll buyers of raw seafood products are required to file a registration form for each calendar year prior to the start of purchasing for that year.
  • ‚ÄčOnce registered for a calendar year, completed tax returns are due quarterly whether or not  purchases have occurred. 
Contact us:  City of Akutan, 100 Windy Way, Akutan, AK  99553